The 2024 Vuelta a España
is a three-week Grand Tour cycling stage racebetween 17 August - 8 September 2024
Final Stage Competition starts in:
00d:09h:11m :42s
La VueltaArchive a Espana 1990

Vuelta a Espana 1990

The 45th Edition Vuelta a España (Tour of Spain), a long-distance bicycle stage race and one of the three grand tours, was held from 24 April to 15 May 1990. It consisted of 22 stages covering a total of 3,680 km (2,287 mi), and was won by Marco Giovannetti of the Seur cycling team.

Defending champion Pedro Delgado was the principal favourite for the win of the race. Delgado was joined by a strong Banesto team that included Miguel Induráin and Julián Gorospe. The other Spanish favourites included 1986 winner Álvaro Pino as well as Anselmo Fuerte and 1982 winner Marino Lejarreta. Of the potential foreign winners were the strong Colombians which included Fabio Parra and Lucho Herrera.

Pello Ruiz Cabestany won the opening time trial and took the first leader’s jersey. The following day a breakaway got away and Viktor Klimov took the jersey. On the sixth stage a break won the day and took an advantage of over four minutes. Gorospe took the leader’s jersey. However on the eleventh stage, Gorospe had a bad day and lost the jersey to Marco Giovannetti who had been second on the general classification and had been in the break that gained the time on the favourites. Delgado tried to close the gap to Giovannetti over the remainder of the race but could not. Giovannetti won his first and only grand tour ahead of Delgado and Anselmo Fuerte.

1990 Vuelta a España
Race details
Dates 24 April – 15 May
Stages 22
Distance 3,680 km (2,287 mi)
Winning time 94h 36′ 40″
Winner  Marco Giovannetti (ITA) (Seur)
Second  Pedro Delgado (ESP) (Banesto)
Third  Anselmo Fuerte (ESP) (ONCE)

Points  Uwe Raab (GDR) (PDM)
Mountains  José Martín Farfán (COL) (Kelme-Ibexpress)
Youth  Uwe Ampler (GDR) (PDM)
Combination  Federico Echave (ESP) (CLAS-Cajastur)
Sprints  Miguel Ángel Iglesias (ESP) (Puertas Mavisa)
← 1989
1991 →


List of stages
Stage Date Course Distance Type Winner
1 24 April Benicàssim – Benicàssim 10.3 km (6 mi) Time Trial.svg Individual time trial  Pello Ruiz Cabestany (ESP)
2a 25 April Oropesa – Castellón 108 km (67 mi)  Emilio Cuadrado [es] (ESP)
2b 25 April Benicàssim – Borriana 36.3 km (23 mi) Team Time Trial Stage.svg Team time trial Lotus–Festina
3 26 April Dénia – Murcia 196.3 km (122 mi)  Silvio Martinello (ITA)
4 27 April Murcia – Almería 226.2 km (141 mi)  Erwin Nijboer (NED)
5 28 April Almería – Sierra Nevada 198 km (123 mi)  Patrice Esnault (FRA)
6 29 April Loja – Ubrique 195.2 km (121 mi)  Jesper Worre (DEN)
7 30 April Jerez – Seville 190.3 km (118 mi)  Benny Van Brabant (BEL)
8 1 May Seville – Mérida 187.6 km (117 mi)  Atle Pedersen (NOR)
9 2 May Cáceres – Guijuelo 192.7 km (120 mi)  Néstor Mora (COL)
10 3 May Peñaranda de Bracamonte – León 226.8 km (141 mi)  Uwe Raab (DDR)
11 4 May León – San Isidro [es] 203 km (126 mi)  Carlos Hernández (ESP)
12 5 May San Isidro [es] – Naranco 156 km (97 mi)  Alberto Camargo (COL)
13 6 May Oviedo – Santander 193.3 km (120 mi)  Nico Emonds (BEL)
14 7 May Santander – Nájera 207.5 km (129 mi)  Bernd Gröne (FRG)
15 8 May Ezcaray – Valdezcaray 24.1 km (15 mi) Time Trial.svg Individual time trial  Jean-François Bernard (FRA)
16 9 May Logroño – Pamplona 165.5 km (103 mi)  Uwe Raab (DDR)
17 10 May Pamplona – Jaca 155.3 km (96 mi)  Federico Echave (ESP)
18 11 May Jaca – Cerler 178.5 km (111 mi)  José Martín Farfán (COL)
19 12 May Benasque – Zaragoza 223.6 km (139 mi)  Asiat Saitov (URS)
20 13 May Zaragoza – Zaragoza 40 km (25 mi) Time Trial.svg Individual time trial  Pello Ruiz Cabestany (ESP)
21 14 May Collado Villalba – Palazuelos de Eresma 188.6 km (117 mi)  Denis Roux (FRA)
22 15 May Segovia – Madrid 177 km (110 mi)  Uwe Raab (DDR)
Total 3,680 km (2,287 mi)


Final General Classification

Rank Rider Team Time
1 Italy Marco Giovannetti Seur 94h 36′ 40s
2 Spain Pedro Delgado Banesto a 1′ 28s
3 Spain Anselmo Fuerte ONCE a 1′ 48s
4 Spain Pello Ruiz Cabestany ONCE a 2′ 16s
5 Colombia Fabio Parra Kelme-Ibexpress a 3′ 07s
6 Spain Federico Echave CLAS-Cajastur a 3′ 52s
7 Spain Miguel Induráin Banesto a 6′ 22s
8 Soviet Union Ivan Ivanov Alfa Lum a 6′ 48s
9 East Germany Uwe Ampler PDM-Concorde a 7′ 15s
10 France Denis Roux Toshiba a 7′ 56s
11 Colombia José Martín Farfán Kelme-Ibexpress
12 Colombia Luis Herrera Café de Colombia
13 Colombia Carlos Jaramillo Postóbon
14 Spain Ignacio Gaston Crespo CLAS-Cajastur
15 Colombia José Francisco Rodríguez Pony Malta-Avianca
16 Switzerland Tony Rominger Chateaux d’Ax
17 Colombia Alvaro Mejia Postóbon
18 Spain Jesús Montoya BH-Amaya
19 Colombia Álvaro Sierra Café de Colombia
20 Spain Jon Unzaga Bombin Seur
21 Spain Julián Gorospe Banesto
22 Colombia Alberto Luis Camargo Café de Colombia
23 Spain José Luis Laguia Lotus-Festina
24 Colombia Pablo Wilches Pony Malta-Avianca
25 Colombia Gerardo Moncada Postóbon
Final Stage Competition starts in :
I’m John.
Hi! I’m Jenny.
Are you sure about the Vuelta winner?
Then why not make money on it?
Just place your bet!