The 2024 Vuelta a España
is a three-week Grand Tour cycling stage racebetween 17 August - 8 September 2024
Final Stage Competition starts in:
00d:09h:11m :42s
La Vuelta a España Winners

Vuelta a España Winners

The end of the summer cycling season is marked by the Vuelta a Espana, or the Tour of Spain, as it is commonly called. Along with the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France, it takes its place as one of the iconic cycling events in the world. The inaugural Vuelta a Espana started in 1935. Just like the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France, media was responsible behind the creation of the tournament. Conservative newspaper Diario Informaciones came up with the idea to host an event in Spain similar to the Tour de France.

Date: September (since 1995)Region: SpainEnglish name: Tour of SpainLocal name: Vuelta Ciclista a EspañaNickname: The VueltaDiscipline: RoadType: Grand TourOrganiser: UnipublicRace director: Javier Guillén

It has proven to be an overwhelming success with a large number of visitors coming to witness the event every year. Vuelta 2023 is also expected to bring in a lot of interest when the event kicks off on August 24. The organisers have made some key changes to the 2023 route by moving back to the hilly and mountainous stages towards the back end of the race. For 2015, Vuelta winners list was substantially influenced by the presence of numerous mountainous stages in the opening 10 days of the race.

Vuelta Year Winner Сountry Сommand
73 2018 Simon Yates United Kingdom Mitchelton–Scott
72 2017 Chris Froome United Kingdom Team Sky
71 2016 Nairo Quintana Colombia Movistar Team
70 2015 Fabio Aru Italy UCI ProTeam Astana
69 2014 Alberto Contador Spain Tinkoff–Saxo
68 2013 Chris Horner USA Trek–Segafredo
67 2012 Alberto Contador Spain Saxo Bank–Tinkoff Bank
66 2011 Juan José Cobo Spain Geox–TMC
65 2010 Vincenzo Nibali Italy Liquigas–Doimo
64 2009 Alejandro Valverde Spain Movistar Team
63 2008 Alberto Contador Spain Astana Pro Team
62 2007 Denis Menchov Russia Rabobank
61 2006 Alexandre Vinokourov Kazakhstan Liberty Seguros-Würth
60 2005 Roberto Heras Spain Liberty Seguros
59 2004 Roberto Heras Spain Liberty Seguros
58 2003 Roberto Heras Spain U.S. Postal Service

La Vuelta today covers around 3250 km, but the race was substantially longer in the opening few editions. The third edition in 1941 saw riders cover an astonishing 4400 km across 22 stages. Vuelta 2023 will run for 3277 km across 21 stages. *our of Spain is part of the three races that are otherwise known as the Grand Tour since it is a multistage event covering the length and breadth of a country. La Vuelta is especially tough amongst the trio since it takes place towards the end of the cycling season and riders are quite tired by the time they arrive into the event.

32 wins
Wins record
Roberto Heras (4)
The last winner
Alberto Contador (2014)
9 wins
Wins record
Р Bernard Hinault (2)
The last winner
Laurent Jalabert (1995)
7 wins
Wins record
Gustaaf Deloor (2)
The last winner
Freddy Maertens (1977)
6 wins
Wins record
Vincenzo Nibali (1)
The last winner
Fabio Aru (2015)
5 wins
Wins record
Tony Rominger (3)
The last winner
Alex Zülle (1997)
3 wins
Wins record
Rudi Altig (1)
The last winner
Jan Ullrich (1999)
Winners and Overall Domination

Just as in the case of Tour de France, there have been some riders who have dominated the race over the years. Such situation we can see also by free online slots playing. There were not many repeat winners during the early part of the race. Since the 1990s, though, Tony Rominger and Roberto Heras have been on the podium more often than not. They have three wins apiece. Spain’s shining light of the modern era in the world of cycling – Alberto Contador – has also been a recipient of the red jersey. His victory came in 2008, 2012, and 2014 through general classifications.

It is not a surprise that Vuelta has been dominated more by Spanish riders and teams. In terms of stage victories, Spain leads the charge with a whopping 544 wins with Belgium coming second with 211 wins followed by Italy with 176 wins. Spain also has the most number of jerseys – 649 – with France coming a distant second with 155 jerseys. Belgium are not far behind with 140 jerseys in the Tour of Spain.

I’m John.
Hi! I’m Jenny.
Are you sure about the Vuelta winner?
Then why not make money on it?
Just place your bet!